Update from New Delhi

Hi IndieVolunteers!

It’s been a crazy first month and some odd weeks in and out of New Delhi. I’ve had to finalize my classes and I took a couple of trips.

These days I find myself reflecting heavily on some desires and hopes in my own life, such as to study languages and culture and work in art in New York. I am in the midst of college applications once more.  This is happening concurrently as I attempt to live in a society vastly different from anything I have ever known. I struggle in many aspects, especially in certain expectations of my behavior and dress as a woman. Moreover, there is such a staggeringly large array of social issues at play in India that I feel that I am absorbing all of this knowledge and only truly understanding it day by day. It is currently elections all over India and I have never seen anything like it; everything has become politicized. Entire states are temporarily banning or halting certain things so as to garner votes from different factions.

I hope to update more with posts about specific NGOs that I have learned about, as well as some interesting issues here. Keep tuned and let me know what you have heard about that’s happening in India right now as well!

Best,
Ani

Leave a Reply

